Jonathan Trott is ICC Cricketer of the Year

Discussion in 'Cricket Talk' started by Cabinet96, Sep 13, 2011.

  1. Cabinet96

    Cabinet96 New Member

    [FLOAT-RIGHT][​IMG][/FLOAT-RIGHT]Jonathan Trott, the England batsman, has been named the Cricketer of the Year for 2011, the ICC's top accolade. He received the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy at the annual ceremony in London, after his team-mate Alastair Cook had won the Test Cricketer of the Year award.

    "It's fantastic to be part of a successful team and I never envisaged winning this award. It's a brilliant feeling to be recognised," Trott said.

    In 12 Tests during the period under consideration, Trott scored 1042 runs at an average of 65.12, including four centuries and three half-centuries. He also played 24 ODIs, scoring 1064 runs at an average of 48.36 with two centuries and nine 50s. Trott was chosen for the award ahead of Cook, last-year's winner Sachin Tendulkar and South Africa batsman Hashim Amla.

    Previous winners of the Cricketer of the Year award include Rahul Dravid (2004), Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis (joint winners in 2005), Ricky Ponting (2006 and 2007), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008), Mitchell Johnson (2009) and Sachin Tendulkar (2010).

    Cook, however, won the Test Cricketer award after having a prolific year in the format. Cook played 12 Tests, and in 18 innings he scored 1302 runs at an average of 76.58, including six centuries and four half-centuries. His 235 not out against Australia in Brisbane kick-started England's first Ashes victory away from home since 1986-87.

    Kumar Sangakkara, the former Sri Lanka captain, was the only player to win two awards on the night. He was named the ODI Cricketer of the Year and also picked up the People's Choice Award. Sangakkara scored 1049 runs at an average of 55.21 in 25 ODIs. He also had 26 catches and 10 stumpings as wicketkeeper and led Sri Lanka to the final of the 2011 World Cup.

    Though India spent most of the period under consideration at No. 1 in the Test rankings, and won the 2011 World Cup, their only award winner was the captain MS Dhoni, who was given the Spirit of Cricket accolade. Dhoni was not present at the ceremony despite being in England.

    The ICC chose West Indies legspinner Devendra Bishoo, ahead of other nominees Darren Bravo, Wahab Riaz and Azhar Ali, for the Emerging Player Award. Bishoo, 25, played five Tests in the voting period and took 21 wickets at an average of 35.42. He also picked up 19 wickets at 21.57 each in 11 ODIs.

    Ryan ten Doeschate, the Netherlands allrounder, was named the ICC Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year for the third time in four years, and for the second year running. ten Doeschate was chosen ahead of Afghanistan allrounder Hamid Hassan, and the Irish duo of Paul Stirling and Kevin O'Brien, both centurions in the 2011 World Cup.

    New Zealand seamer Tim Southee won the award for Twenty20 International Performance of the Year, for his spell of 5 for 18 against Pakistan in Auckland.

    Pakistan umpire Aleem Dar has won the David Shepherd trophy for the Umpire of the Year for the third consecutive time. He beat competition from Steve Davis, Ian Gould and five-time winner Simon Taufel.

    Stafanie Taylor, the West Indies women's allrounder, was named the ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year.
  2. CoverDrive

    CoverDrive Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Congrats to him :) but I feel that Amla deserved an award too!
  3. Cabinet96

    Cabinet96 New Member

    Probably should have got ODI player of the year, although I thought Watson should have got it. There is definitely something fishy with the ICC and Sanga. He was captain of the World Cup XI. Captain of the Test team of the year, with no Prior (what more could Prior have done) and now the ODI player of the year when the stats suggested he had a good year but nothing outstanding (pretty low strike rate, in fact the sort of strike rate that Trott would get shot for)

    --- Update ---

    Lol I love reading the comments on Cricinfo

    Hilarious. Everyone nows that the ICC kiss the BCCI's ass in these awards yet there still complaining. Get a clue dude.
  4. CoverDrive

    CoverDrive Well-Known Member Staff Member


    But I don't understand the love between ICC and Sanga either!
  5. Cabinet96

    Cabinet96 New Member

    Quite random. He made the Test XI as keeper and captain despite not doing either in Tests anymore.
  6. CoverDrive

    CoverDrive Well-Known Member Staff Member

    And he always gets the Good Spirit player of the year for no reason too - especially when I don't find him quite honest.
  7. Rager

    Rager Active Member Staff Member

    These awards are just bunch of crap. Did any indian players win any sorta award? I guess no. Biased ****!>!
  8. Cabinet96

    Cabinet96 New Member

    **** you **** head. Do you want a fight. Everybody who knows anything about cricket knows that. In 2009 and 2010 2 indian players got 3 of the major awards. I guess this year they were just too **** and it would be obvious. Donhi got into the ODI team for one knock and he also got the spirit of cricket award for being a twat all year (nothing's changed). Stop getting cranky because you lost 4-0 and haven't won an international match on this tour. Go and watch your IPL and champions league and see who wins best player there. These are the most prestigious awards in international cricket.
  9. ausie

    ausie New Member

    well he is kinda good batsman..and he deserves it.....
  10. Cricket_Guru

    Cricket_Guru Active Member

    He deserves!