Bairstow in catch controversy

Discussion in 'Cricket Talk' started by Rager, Nov 25, 2012.

  1. Rager

    Rager Active Member Staff Member

    http://www.espncricinfo.com/india-v-england-2012/content/current/story/592969.html

    The Wankhede Test had a tryst with minor controversy when Jonny Bairstow was given out caught at silly point even though the ball had hit Gautam Gambhir's helmet before he completed the catch.

    The dismissal came in what turned out to be the last ball before lunch, and everybody - the batsmen and the umpires - walked off satisfied with the dismissal. According to England sources, their director of cricket, Andy Flower, approached the match referee, Roshan Mahanama, to ask for the decision to be reversed. Mahanama informed him that as Bairstow had left the field of play, the decision could only be withdrawn if India's captain, MS Dhoni, withdrew his appeal on the umpires' request. Dhoni, with the support of his coach, Duncan Fletcher, chose not to do so.
     
  2. CoverDrive

    CoverDrive Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Bairstow's fault.
     
Tags: